Life of the College Girl

Sexuality and Black America

Posted on: August 27, 2008

Hi all! So I just got done doing my African American Studies homework. Basically all I had to do was read the book and answers some question, and just like any other lazy ass college student, I just read the sections that had to do with the questions and skipped the rest of the chapter. However,as I was flipping through the chapter on the Middle Passage, I came across a section about African women on the slave ships. How they were forced to have sex with European men, because they thought that African women were less valuable than the men. This was because one these ships, slave women were worth half the price of slave men, and the European men thought that this made it ok for them to abuse these women.

First thing that popped into my head was the Jezebel stereotype. If you don’t know what that is….Google it…lol. Naw, I’m going to be nice and tell you. A “Jezebel” is a loose woman, usually a black woman, who craves sex all the time. This stereotype was created by European men who went to Africa.

The next thing was the obvious, the way black women are portrayed in music, movies, television,and other forms of entertainment. How music by black artist has always been raunchier and more sexually driven (well I should say more straight forward when it comes to sex.) than any other type of music. Rap music videos disgust me now (well except for Soulja Boi’s “Donk” video, that’s kinda funny and I don’t even like Soulja Boi.). All you see is ass to the camera. What else is this girl supposed to do if the song calls for ass to the camera? If you search online, you can find girls talking about sleeping with celebrities. Talking about how long,or short he was, and being proud of it. It’s something called groupie confessions, and don’t get me started with Supahead….

The next thing to come to my mind, which I believe has something to do with the second thing, was the black community. What I see everyday. Females younger than me with 2 and 3 babies, dressing in the shortest and tightest clothing available. I work across the street from a night that had a teen night every week, and I would just be shocked at the way these young girls would dress. I mean my mother wouldn’t have let me leave my room in some of the thing these chicks are wearing. Young girls are having sex and getting pregnant at younger ages. I’m not even going to lie I had my first “sexual experience” at 12. I didn’t have sex, it was just an “experience”, and that was the one and only time up until I was like 16. There are children out here having sex starting at age 8. I won’t thinking about no sex at age 8! I didn’t even think I liked boys at age 8…..did I? I don’t know, but I know I won’t thinking about fucking them!

Black colleges have the highest rates of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases. Being an eye witness myself,and also being one who has gotten caught up in this,I can see why. All they want to do if fuck! It’s crazy. Even the phrase “Chill” doesn’t have the same meaning anymore. If a guy wants to “chill” with a girl…..it mean he wants to have sex with her. No one sent me the email on this definition change so I found myself in many awkward situations.

Anyway back to the music. Most rap songs and r&b songs are about sex. It’s always been that way. Think about,I bet you can name 3 without thinking. So I actually don’t want you to think about it……..anyway, you can name 3.

But for real, why do we continue to up hold these stereotypes about ourselves? Do we not know? Us as black people are very sexual people, it’s in our history. Think about it….it’s everywhere. And it’s not only us but hispanics as well, and asians! Why are we always portrayed as sex things, and sometimes nothing more? Video girls are chosen for their body parts, and yeah people like Buffy and Deelishis might be the leading lady in a music video, but that’s it. People only see them as video hoochies and that’s a shame. I actually like Deelishis single “rumpshaker”, it’s actually on my mp3 player right now. I think one of the reason why it didn’t get as much play is because many people saw her as a talking ass from a reality show.

Yet, young black men will still have her and any other video model’s King or Smooth Girl cover hanging on their wall versus a picture of Michele Obama. And what is this teaching our young girls? That they have to literally show their ass to get attention? That you gotta look like a hooker to get a man’s attention? It’s ridiculous!! Ok,ok, I know in recent entries I’ve written about how these same images have affected me in a negative way, but that is what I was looking at all the time. I wanted to model, and at the time when you looked up black modeling agencies you found agencies that catered to women who look like Buffy, and I thought that in order to break into the industry, to get people to notice me, I had to look like that.

Basically this all comes down to the old phrase “sex sells”. And it does, and just like any luxury item, it is being advertised mostly to the black community through it’s own people. I know there are people who would debate that I am the last person who should be writing on this subject,especially some of those who went to MSU, but I believe that more than anyone else I should be speaking on this subject and how wrong it it. Yeah, I made a mistake and in the process actually gave more truth to the old Jezebel stereotype, but I have grown past that and now realize that a lot of the things I was doing was not right and was quite degrading to black women, and that incident just knocked some sense into me and made me clean my act up. And now that I’m seeing this subject a little bit clearer, I see now that these things are not right and should be fixed, and I am willing to do my part to fix it.

Luv Ya!!!

Oh yeah, and if you want to read more about this Jezebel Stereotype….click here. It’s very interesting…

2 Responses to "Sexuality and Black America"

Some constructive critiicism:
Your points are notable and valid. However, maybe you should use your old English 101 textbook(s) to help with your grammar, tense, sentence structure… Your content is worhty, but to “wax poetic” on your topic I suggest you have someone else proof read your final draft. I’m not trying to be a hater; this is just constructive critiicism. After all, when you are trying to speak out against negative stereotypes it is a shame to BE one. You say you got into college, so I hope that means you’re qualified to be there. You may have gotten in on affirmative action, but hopefully you remain there because you are a qualified token.

Some constructive criticism:
Your points are notable and valid. However, maybe you should use your old English 101 textbook(s) to help with your grammar, tense, sentence structure… Your content is worhty, but to “wax poetic” on your topic I suggest you have someone else proof read your final draft. I’m not trying to be a hater; this is just constructive critiicism. After all, when you are trying to speak out against negative stereotypes it is a shame to BE one. You say you got into college, so I hope that means you’re qualified to be there. You may have gotten in on affirmative action, but hopefully you remain there because you are a qualified token.

Leave a Reply

