Life of the College Girl

We (Black folks) Need to Make Healthier Choices….

Posted on: August 1, 2008

when it comes to food. Like seriously. I was in Wal-mart today, and as you know today was the first. Usually on the first I wait until around 1 am to go there because I hate crowds, but today since I was cooking dinner tonight I decided to venture out while the sun was still shining.

When I walked in and the first thing I noticed was that there were a whole lot of black folks in there, duh, and that the majority of them where over weight. Then while I was walking up and down the aisles,I started being nosey and looking in baskets. I saw one that was basically meat and junk food. I glanced at the owner of the cart and it was an overweight black women and her overweight young daughter. She looked about 5. Meanwhile I was doing my usual weekly pick up of some tv dinners and chef boyardee and water and anything else I could get on my budget, while looking at the nutritional values on the side or back of everything.

I’ve heard many people blame the high rate of obesity in the black community on the high cost of organic,and healthy foods. I say: THAT IS NOT AN EXCUSE!!! I never buy organic, I rarely buy health food like that,and I am able to get a lot of non-junk things on my $20-$40 a week grocery budget. Yoplait low fat yogurt is no more than 60 cent a cup depending on where you go. Low Fat pop tarts are usually the same price as the regular(I know they are at wal-mart). Water by the gallon is less than a dollar and those boxes of the Crystal Light mix that you stir into water is no more than $2. That’s just an example of a few things, but there are a lot of things that are inexpensive and healthy. Just look at the nutritional values on the package. Most of the sugar free stuff taste just as good as the regular,applesauce is a great way to get a fruit serving.

Also, portion control, these large potions of everything is the reason why we are gaining so much weight. I lie to you not, you will be hungry at first, but after a week or so you will get used to eating single servings.

So yeah, there is no excuse for not being healthy. Ladies, if you think eating fatty foods is going to give the ass of your dreams….think again. Unless you are so lucky and all the fat you intake goes directly to your ass, it’s not going to happen. Exercise is the only thing.

1 Response to "We (Black folks) Need to Make Healthier Choices…."

Encouraging each other with workouts is also a step in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

